The Power of Support

Before I had our baby, I really wasn’t aware of the need for mother-based supports. I had no idea there were even such groups! But let me tell you, these last few weeks would have been impossible to get through if it weren’t for the Lactation Connection, the Nurturing Nest, and the support of another local mom.

Thankfully, when our baby was discharged from the NICU, part of the discharge plan included a consultation with the Lactation Connection. The Lactation Connection is run by a group of amazing nurses that specialize in breast feeding. Without them I’m sure I would have either starved my newborn or already given up on breastfeeding.

The nurses not only provide guidance in the consultation but they have mastered the art of following up. I’ve received a number of calls and emails of them just checking in to see how I’m doing, if I have any questions, and most importantly, just to offer encouragement. I mean one nurse emailed me just to say “You did it!” after we went in for a baby-weight check.

As a social worker, I know that follow-up is very important to ensure the success of a client. This is the first time I’ve been the receiver of it.

Other supports that have been an absolute godsend are the Nurturing Nest with their pre-natal/post- par-tum yoga and educational classes (I’ll be attending Cloth Diapering Wisdom soon as we’ve chosen to go that route).

Lastly, while I was pregnant I reconnected with an old friend who was also pregnant (about 6 weeks ahead of me). It’s worked out wonderfully. She let me in on all the things to expect during pregnancy and now with our gorwing baby. Sure we have some different experiences but for the most part, her information has been invaluable. I couldn’t be more thankful.

So if you’re a new mom or going to be a new mom. It’s important to surround yourself with like-minded people. It will make you feel entirely more confident, supported, and connected to others. There is no denying the power of support.  So link up with friends that are mommies, Google search for the nearest Motherhood Wellness Center, and check your local hospital for support groups of any kind. And ATTEND THEM. You won’t be sorry.

One thought on “The Power of Support

Leave a Reply

